No Words

It’s been an hour

the candles are fading

and still I can’t think

of what to say.

Many words and thoughts

run through my head

yet none seem right

not for you.

I close my eyes

my mind pictures your face.

I open my mouth to speak

but words will not come.

Your smile fades

and I feel I have hurt you

on the verge of tears

I put my arms around you.

Now I realize

what must be said

cannot be said

with a simple word. 

One thought on “No Words

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

