What I learned from Job

“In the land of Uz there lived a man whose name was Job. This man was blameless and and upright; he feared God and shunned evil. He had seven sons and three daughters, and he owned seven thousand sheep, three thousand camels, five hundred yoke of oxen, and five hundred donkeys, and had a large number of servants. He was the greatest man among all the people of the East.” (Job 1:1-5)

God was proud of Job for his devotion and service. One day when the angels presented themselves before the Lord, Satan was there as well. When the Lord questioned Satan about where he had come from, Satan replied that he had come form roaming the earth and and going back and forth on it. “And the Lord said to Satan “Have you considered my servant Job? There is no one on earth like him; he is blameless and upright, a man who fears God and shuns evil.” (Job 1:8)

After this Satan said that Job only feared God because Job was blessed. “You have blessed the work of his hands, so that his flocks and herds are spread throughout the land. But stretch out your hand and strike everything he has, and he will surely curse you to your face.” (Job 1:11). At this God gives Satan the permission to test Job.

Job loses everything he has all within a day. His children are taken from him, and his herds and flocks are destroyed. Yet through it all Job still worships God. He acknowledges that God gives and takes. In all of this Job does not sin by blaming God for his troubles. Even when Satan afflicted Job with painful sores all over his body, Job did not sin in what he said (Job 2:10).

In the end God blesses Job with twice as much as he had before. God shows Job that those who are faithful are not forgotten during their troubles.

I have learned how blessed I am. God has given me a family whom I love and am loved by in return, each day I wake up not having to worry about what to wear or what I will eat. I have learned that I am blessed because God loves me, and that I should not despise the discipline of the Almighty. I am so unworthy of the love that God gives so freely. God has given everything for me, the least I can do is give it all back.

“Praise the Lord, O my soul. I will praise the Lord all my life; I will sing praise to my God as long as I live.” Psalm 146:1

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

