My Dog Joe

The atmosphere is friendly
I’ve found, accented by the aroma
Of mouth watering delights.
The colors surrounding me,
I’m sure were intended
To bring me back.

I had a mango pineapple splash,
Now all that’s left is a straw
And some cubes of frozen water.

What’s in this chili?
It’s make-you-feel-at-home taste
Reminds me of my aunt.

Something hit me just now.
A thought
I think.

Why?
Why have I taken so long
to return?

One thought on “My Dog Joe

  1. Pingback: A Poem Remembered by Time | Words in Empty Spaces

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

