Jesus and Janise: Role of a Counselor

Several days ago I was reading Irene Brand’s book The Gift of Family, in it, Brand creates a scene where the family gets together for evening scripture reading and prayer. The mother of the family, Hilda, reads the sixth verse in the ninth chapter of Isaiah,

“For to us a child is born, to us a son is given,
and the government will be on his shoulders.
And he will be called, Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God,
Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.

I know, I’ve got you thinking about Christmas, I can’t humming that tune either, but lets focus on the name Wonderful Counselor. Since I rarely considered Jesus in this light, I had to think back to 2008 when I went through a really rough time and ended up seeing Janice, my counselor, because of that rough time.

I remember going to her office, usually with a lot on my mind. She’d greet me with a warm hello and an invitation to sit. Since I only met with her once every two weeks, she’d ask how the previous two weeks had been. While I answered, Janice took notes. Every now and then, she asked a question, but mostly, she just listened.

When I was done giving her the sob story of the week, she would offer me the best advice she had pertaining to my various fears. After three months I didn’t have to go see her anymore. Janice was such a big help to me that I began to see the things that had happened to me as a means of making a difference for others. When I think of think of what an impact Janice made on me and then consider the fact that Jesus is the Wonderful Counselor, I can’t help but think that there isn’t a single issue on this planet that Jesus can’t help with.

So today, whatever you’re facing in life. Think of Jesus as the Wonderful Counselor. He is ready and willing to listen. He knows just what you need. If you don’t know where to begin, just tell him about your week. Bring your worries to him and He will help you. The promise is in the name.

God bless,

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

