Falling Apart

Christmas 2005, the pastor handed me a brand new extreme teen Bible. What 15 year-old doesn’t enjoy getting a brand new Bible? I went home and I used that book. When I came to any particular passages that I felt speak directly to me, I’d pull out the highlighter. Sometimes I’d even pull out a pen and add a little side note in the margins. For example, beside the story of the burning bush in Genesis 15, I wrote, “God made the promise regardless of Abraham’s Involvement”.

Through out my Bible I highlighted scriptures that affected me, and those that I challenged myself to memorize. Over the years, I have seen the edges of my Bible become worn and tattered. A while back James 3 – Revelation fell right out of my Bible. Of course I stuck the pages back into their place, but my Bible is falling apart. To the point where I’m considering getting a new one.

Lately however I have begun thinking about something that I once heard someone say.If your Bible isn’tfalling apart, you probably are.

So have a look, what condition is your Bible in? Chances are, it is a reflection of your condition. In some cases it might not be. There are some who read their Bible every day and manage to keep their Bible in pristine condition. How they do it, I don’t know. But if truth be told, I’d rather my Bible fall apart than my life.

Hold fast to the Bible. To the influence of this Book we are indebted for all the progress made in true civilization and to this we must look as our guide in the future.
Ulysses S. Grant

God Bless,

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

