Wonder Jam – My Experience

My fiance and I posing for a picture at Canada’s Wonderland

Finally my blog awakens from it’s 10 day coma as I return to share a new experience with you.

This past weekend I had the opportunity to go to Canada’s Wonderland and enjoy listening to the message through Christian Artists and speakers. I know it happens every year but this was the first time I got to go so I just have to tell you about it.

So, after going on two rides, Dragon Fire and Sky Rider, and refusing to go on The Bat with Jeffrey, everyone gathered in the tents to have some awesome God time.

The event, as the title hints, was called Wonder Jam. Our wonderful emcee was Bone Hampton  a Christian comedian. He made the dead moments between performances non-existent. In other words, he was pretty funny. You can see more of him here.

The first singer to hit the stage was a young woman named Jamie Grace. Jamie is a 19 year old singer-song writer who you might have run into if you’ve ever attended the Women of Faith’s popular Revolve tour. I was very inspired by Jamie and the songs of praise she sang that night. If you have time you can listen to her songs on her You Tube channel. You’re going to love her voice, but I hope you love her message more!

Then FireFlight took stage. Now, if it wasn’t for the fact that my fiance introduced the Christian Rock band to me some time ago and for the fact that I already have one of their albums on my computer, I might have been a little taken aback. Seriously, if you’re not used to rock, even if it’s Christian rock, you’d get a real wake up call the moment the drummer starts playing. I literally felt every drum beat as if it were my own heart beating in my chest. Then again, that’s just because of how loud the music was on the speakers. Of course if you weren’t used to loud music either you had to endure a pounding headache too. However, all that aside, I did enjoy the songs and the message presented by the members of Fireflight!

Now, one of my favorite performers of the night! Lacrae! Now he really surprised me. I had no idea that Hip Hop could be so…worshipful. I was stunned by his passion for Jesus and the way he showed it through his music. When I was listening to him and watching him, I thought to myself, ‘no wonder I’ve never heard of him before, he’s not full of himself like so many other artists out there!’ Even though Lacrae wasn’t on stage for long, I was deeply moved by the message he presented in his songs and in the way he presented himself, but mostly because of the way he represented Jesus. When Lacrae sings, it’s Jesus that moves hearts in the listener. What especially touched me was the message of Romans 1:16 “For I am not ashamed of the gospel for it is the power of God for salvation to everyone who believes.”, that Lacrae shared with us.

Alright, next up was Kutless. This is another band that Jeffrey introduced me to a little while ago. I’m still warming up to them, but they aren’t that bad. I’m just used to my conservative tastes in music.

Next to take the stage was author and speaker David Nasser. David brought us a message about fear and how it can sometimes just swallow us whole. But then he reminded us that no matter how terrible things are and how afraid we are, Jesus tells us not to be afraid because He is always with us.

Last but not least it was time for Skillet, I’m pretty sure that’s who everyone was there for, because suddenly the stadium was packed. When Skillet got on stage, I wasn’t having fun anymore. Let’s just say that the noise and the flashing lights was too much for me. Not only that, but I couldn’t even understand the words that were being sung through all that noise. I know they had a message about Jesus somewhere in there but all I heard was the pounding in my head. I’m glad they were last because after that, I just wanted to go home and sleep.

Speaking of sleep, that’s what I’m off to do now. Have a good night all.

God Bless!

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

