Writing: More Than A Hobby

For months now I have been searching for a job, and for months I have kept on staying unemployed. Every time I hand out a resume to local shopping centers, fast food restaurants, hotels, and even old age homes – I am left with one thought. I wish I could get paid to write.

For years I was under the impression that writers were “starving artists”, so writing became the hobby that might

never go anywhere, unless of course I become a bestseller. For some reason, this just doesn’t feel right anymore. I

don’t want writing to just be a hobby for me, I want it to be my life because it is my passion. I want the old saying “When you do something you love, you’ll never work a day in your life.” to apply to me. Perhaps this is why I haven’t been able to find a job anywhere else, I haven’t truly wanted that job. I just applied to it because it’s a job and I need money.

A couple days ago I decided to Google ‘writing jobs’, not expecting to come up with anything that didn’t require a degree in journalism. I could not have been more wrong. What I found floored me, I had no idea where to begin. So because it was on the top of the page, I clicked on the link that took me to Bamidele Onibalusi‘s page. This young blogger had posted some 30 websites that will pay for contribution. This young man also provides tips on how to improve on writing skills and how to find clients that are willing to pay you to write for them. It was like my eyes were opened to a whole new world of opportunities.

Now I have found even more links to sites that pay for contribution, it’s almost overwhelming. I think I have my work cut out for me, seeing which ones are actually a legitimate way of making some sort of income. Then I have to find out if it can actually be claimed as income or not. I’m not sure how that would work, but I’m pretty sure I’ve found my dream job. I’m talking about my actual dream job, not all of the plan b’s I’ve been coming up with all my life. I can’t believe I didn’t see this before, I thank God for opening my eyes to what has been right in front of me, literally, for quite some time. Who wouldn’t love to work from the comfort of their own home, with no one to constantly look over your shoulder, no need to wear uncomfortable clothing, and having the freedom to choose which hours you want to work.

I might just be really lazy for not wanting to have a normal 9-5 job, but if this works out for me, you have no idea how happy I’ll be. Of course I am counting on God to show me whether or not this is actually His plan for me, because if it isn’t, I’ll keep looking elsewhere. Right now though, this just feels right, so I’m going to pursue writing for others as a career and see what happens.

God bless.

4 thoughts on “Writing: More Than A Hobby

  1. This is interesting, Rita!

    I’m glad you’re finally working on making your dream of being a professional writer a reality, and I can tell you it is possible.

    You just have to believe in yourself and give it your all!

    Of course, the journey might not always be as easy as it seems, but it’ll get to a stage where things will eventually become easier than imagined.

    If you need any help with making a career out of writing online, just hit me up and I’ll be happy to help!

    Best Regards,
    Bamidele

    • Thank you so much Bamidele! I have stumbled upon a site called constant-content.com which I’m pretty excited about. I love Google!
      I will hit you up anytime I have a question. Thanks again!

  2. Good for you! I search those listings all the time and find myself paralyzed by the possibility of rejection. My blog post today is about stalling. Good luck and keep pushing toward your dream! It sounds like your determination will get you there!
    Linden

    • Thank you Linden! I do want it pretty bad. So bad I’d almost forgotten about the possibility of rejection. I think I’ll have to hop on over to your blog, I definitely don’t want anything including my own fears getting in my way.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

