Inspired by Love

Whether it’s historical, suspense, or a modern-day-heart-warming story doesn’t really matter to me. As long as it has that Love Inspired logo in the upper left-hand corner, I’ll read it. Then once I start reading it, I can’t seem to put it down until I’m done. This afternoon I began pondering the reasons behind my addiction to these books.

I had to think back to the first time I got my hands on one of these books. Actually it was four books in one – a Readers Digest volume. One of these four books – and my favorite – was Irene Hannon’s A Family to Call Her Own. I was eight years old when this book was published, 12 when I read it for the first time. Come to think of it, by my fifth time through the book several years later, I was as in love with the story and its characters as the characters were with each other. Not only that, I loved reading about how God used the tough times in the character’s lives to show them that God still had a plan for their lives. That God gives second chances when we think we’ve come to the end of the road. Plus, I just love happy endings.

The funny thing was, I didn’t really know there were other books like that out there. So I just kept reading the same one over and over, in between books I had to read for school, that is. Until one Christmas when I was about 15. A family friend presented me with 2 Love Inspired books; Sounds of Silence by Elizabeth White, and Past Secrets, Present Love by Lois Richer. With those two books read, I began to scour the library for more books like these. When I found them, I signed them out and read them, then went to look for more.

This cycle has been never ending. Just this morning, with the help of the internet and my windows 7 phone, I downloaded 10 Love Inspired books off the online library for me to read in the next several days. But I still haven’t told you why I love them so much have I?

To me, these books offer new worlds to explore. I get to meet new people, watch them grow from their struggles to become men and women of God. I get to become part of a thrilling rescue mission, or travel back in time, and of course I get the satisfaction of a happy ending. This is especially exciting when reading a continuity story; then I get to re-visit places and people that I’ve read about before. For some, like the Mirror Lake series by Kathryn Springer, I find myself feeling like a part of the community. Like the ladybug on my wall. Maybe I’m just strange, but I love it.

Even though there are times when I really do need to get back to the real world and focus on the tasks at hand, I don’t think I will ever tire of reading Love Inspired books. As long as the writers who laboriously write them, keep writing them, I will keep reading them.

That’s all for now,

God bless.

 

One thought on “Inspired by Love

  1. Pingback: A Message of Hope | Words in Empty Spaces

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

