Rainy Day Reflection

The wind blows a gentle breeze through the open window, jangles the chimes hanging on the neighbor’s porch and sends me further into the quiet corners of my mind. It’s so quiet I can’t remember what I was thinking about that had me all in a tizzy several minutes ago.

Another car drives by on the freshly rained on road and suddenly it all comes back. I can’t afford to keep having such peaceful off days. Even though I enjoy getting a break from back aching work, three days in a row is too much of a break. With fewer and fewer hours on the days I do work, how will I continue to live. After rent has been paid and the bare necessities purchased I am left ‘barely scraping by’ as some like to put it.

I remember the resumes that have been placed in other locations, the emails that have been sent, and the prayers that have been whispered. But then I remember. While my hours as a housekeeper may be few, it is better than being unemployed. Little income is better than no income. But come on, there has got to be something better out there for me.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

