Technology: An Evil Blessing?

I only have ten minutes to say this as I wait for my husband to finish work for the night. I brought my laptop to his workplace so I could submit a story to Chicken Soup for the Soul. With that done, I wanted to do something fun. So technology(cell phones.. etc), what an evil blessing eh!

I cannot help thanking God for technology. It would be awful if I couldn’t keep in touch with my family and those I love. But often I find myself getting distracted by my phone while I’m supposed to be giving my full attention to my spouse, or a sibling. I don’t mean to shut them out. But that’s what happens, isn’t it.

I was visiting my sister last week and she had to tell me to put my phone away. I put myself in her shoes and had to admit that my constant attachment to my phone is not a good thing.

Ah, looks like my handsome man is done working, so I’ll finish up.

I’m going to challenge myself, and you too. To be aware of what we’re doing when we pull out our phones and start checking Facebook and Twitter, and what have you. I don’t like it when others do it to me, so I’m going to do my best to keep my phone in my pocket while I’m supposed to be having a conversation.

Unless that person pulls their phone out first. Then all bets are off!

Have a good night all you lovely people.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

