A Journey Just Beginning

It was a week ago that I decided to get my act together and clean up. My apartment that is, because there was no way I would be able to focus on my writing while living in a pile of dirty dishes and laundry.
I scrubbed my house from top to bottom, making myself no fun in the process, according to my husband. “Take a break” he’d say. But I couldn’t. I couldn’t stop cleaning.
My neighbor sent me a text message to see if I could babysit for an hour or two. I said yes and as soon as she left and her toddler foster sons were sleeping, I picked up a broom and swept her house. It was that bad.
Eventually I had completely ruined the long weekend for my husband, but my place was clean and I was happy.
It was during those hours of cleaning that had my mind spinning with ideas for my next writing project.
I began remembering what it was like to have a bully and how I ended up making him my friend. Out of that, a story has been born. I am currently in the sixth chapter of my first draft and loving every bit of it.
I know I have a long road ahead of me. One that will take dedication, creativity, and focus to complete. Not to mention all the editing and rejection that is bout to come my way. But I have faith.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

