I Let it Rain

Rainy Path

Rainy Path

I don’t know about you, but my typical reaction when it starts raining is to run for cover. I keep telling myself that I prefer to watch the rain through a window, but an open one so that I can still hear it. I find it so soothing.

As nature would have it though. I didn’t bring my umbrella when I left for work today, so when it started raining, hard, on my way home, I

knew I was going to get soaked. So I did something I normally wouldn’t do. I took off my glasses, let my hair down, and simply let it rain. Not that I could have stopped it if I had wanted to.

What surprised me is that I actually enjoyed it. The experience of letting myself be exposed to the rain and watching it fall to the ground brought me back to my childhood. A time when my siblings and I would deliberately run around in the rain barefoot, trying to see who could jump in the biggest puddle first. Even though Mom would scold us later on for getting the carpet all wet, and sometimes muddy, those were good times.

 

7 thoughts on “I Let it Rain

  1. beautiful…I have been like that – running for a cover but I have changed myself and let myself feel the rain and beautiful refreshing feeling it brings šŸ™‚ nice post dear

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

