Dear School, I Miss You

Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits

Another school semester will soon begin. If you’re in school, are you looking forward to starting classes? If you’re out of school, what do you miss about it — or are you glad those days are over?

Believe me, back when I was in high school, like every other student, just wanted to be done. I didn’t have very many friends in high school, not close friends anyway, so it was easy to get sick of the never ending shuffle between classes. Sure there where good times, but we wanted to get on with our lives.

Looking back now, I miss school. I miss homework (I know, it’s shocking!). I miss the teachers who made a tremendous impact on my life. Most of all I miss nourishing my mind. Perhaps that’s why I have been bothering hubby with useless, but interesting facts. My mind wants to learn. Not to be overwhelmed as I felt it was at times, but at this rate, anything is better than nothing.

I miss those quiet afternoons spent in the library reading. I miss being challenged at an intellectual level. Maybe, I keep telling myself, maybe one day I’ll go back to school. If and when I do, it will be to further my career in writing. But who knows, life has a way of throwing curve balls, and I, I have learned, suck at catching any type of ball.

8 thoughts on “Dear School, I Miss You

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Fifteen Credits | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Learning | A mom's blog

  3. Pingback: Do I really have to go back to school? | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: Embroid Yourself

  5. Pingback: Best days of our lives? | Life & Times

  6. Pingback: My top five things about going back to university… | My Top Fives...

  7. I miss the entire college experience! I miss the freedom, the community feel, feeling like having your closest friends as roommates and neighbors was normal, intramural sports, going to college football and basketball games, crushes, the ridiculous amount of resources through books, libraries, clubs and faculty that was at my fingertips, the town, having the football team threaten to beat me up only to have me leave victoriously… I miss it all!

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

