That Time I Got My Brothers Reading

It’s one of those Sundays. I’ve finished a string of days at work and can now sit back and relax a bit. Of course that means I now have three days to write to my heart’s contentment before I’m back at work.

It also means that I’m going to be doing a lot of reading. Every writer needs to read. It’s how my mind goes on vacation/adventures. Reading has been an escape for me for as long as I knew how to read. I also read them because I was lonely and didn’t have a love life of my own, so I became the proverbial third wheel in every book I read.

Pocket Library :)

Pocket Library ๐Ÿ™‚

Just now, as I finished downloading several (9) books onto my phone from the online library, I had a flashback to several years ago. I was reading books just like the ones depicted in the photo. I have gone on many adventures with the heroes and heroines of the Love Inspired books.

There was a time where I was reading these books so much; I would finish one or two books in one day. Of course, family members took notice. Two of my older brothers and my younger brother came and asked me what was so good about them, that I just couldn’t stop.

I couldn’t tell my brothers that I was taking notes on what I wanted in a man, even though I kind of was. I also couldn’t explain to my brothers the pure joy I felt when “watching” two people that I had come to care for, get together, and find their true love. Nor could I explain to them how I connected to the message of the story. I’d always come out of a book having shed a few tears and having my heart strings tugged on.

That’s why I grabbed three books off my shelf (when I actually read books that weren’t all e-books), and handed one to each brother.

“Here, find out for yourself!” I told them while I tried not to laugh at the bewildered expressions on their faces. But compliantly, they all retreated with a Love Inspired Suspense book in their hands.

To be quite honest, I don’t know if they actually read the books, but they stopped asking questions, so I was okay with it! Although, one or two of those books did come back looking a little more worn, and less brand new.

So, there it is. The time I got my brothers reading, romance of all things. I’m still working on hubby, but he’s more of a Sci-fi kind of guy, so I guess I’ll leave him be.

Well, off I go into Margaret Daley’s last book in the Guardians Inc series. They’ve been riveting so I’m pretty stoked about this one! But don’t worry, I wont desert you completely. ๐Ÿ™‚ Perhaps I’ll share a few thoughts along my journey. ๐Ÿ™‚

4 thoughts on “That Time I Got My Brothers Reading

  1. Pingback: A Message of Hope | Words in Empty Spaces

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

