Daily Promt: And The Winner is…

September 2 Daily Prompt!

Would you be surprised if I told you that my first name was actually Margaretha? It’s from the Greek origin, meaning Pearl.

I know that I was named after my Aunt Margaret (mom’s older sister). Although, I am uncertain as to why I was named after this aunt specifically. I don’t know what my mom’s naming system was, other than all her kids were named after a sibling or some other relative.

Aunt Margaret and I โค

Perhaps, since there was no way of knowing what gender each baby was going to beย  (there was no such thing as ultrasounds in Mexico), maybe once the baby was home everyone of the same gender would put their name in a bowl, and then whichever name was picked; that was the baby’s name.

IMG_20130902_105724[1]

A favorite bookmark!

I’m sure that’s not how it happened, but I’m okay with it. I love Aunt Margaret, so having the same name is no burden, but rather a joy.

Oh, maybe God whispered in my mother’s ear to name me Margaret because he knew of the struggles I would go through.

Did you know that the word pearl has become a metaphor for something that is very rare, fine, admirable, and valuable?

Do I think my name suits me? Of course it does! ๐Ÿ™‚

14 thoughts on “Daily Promt: And The Winner is…

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Name that . . .you! | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name thatโ€ฆ You! | My Atheist Blog

  3. Pingback: Have You Seen Molly? | Molly Greye

  4. Pingback: The illegal name | Life is great

  5. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

  6. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

  7. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name thatโ€ฆ You! | Alastair's Blog

  8. Pingback: The Naming Game | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Name That … You! | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  10. Pingback: What if I was a girl? By the way, I’m not! | Okay, what if ?

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

