Daily Prompt: Toy Story

September 12th Daily Post: What was your favorite plaything as a child? Do you see any connection between your life now, and your favorite childhood toy?

Barbie and Kelly

Barbie and Kelly

Uh yeah, I played with Barbies when I was a kid. As did most of my sisters. You already know this if you’ve read some of my history pages. If not, you know now.

Barbie spent a lot of time in my hands. While there, she became many things, lived various lives, and had plenty of friends.

Of course there is a connection between my life now, and my childhood toy. Barbie was my first heroine. Although I never wrote her adventures down, she was the start of it all for me.

Sometimes while I am writing or contemplating a character, I think back to how easy it was with Barbie. Her stories came to me almost effortlessly. Now a days stories come to me while I am walking to work, and haven’t a piece of paper or the time to write it down.

I know hubby has told me that when we have kids, our daughters won’t be playing with Barbies, and I might go along with him on it, seeing how they have changed. Seriously, have you seen how trashy barbies look these days? Instead, I’ll just plop some empty paper in front of them and let them draw or write from the get go.

6 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Toy Story

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Toy Story | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Pingback: By A Show Of Hands, Who Played With Barbies… That Still Had Their Heads? | Molly Greye

  3. Pingback: Bears, Teddy and Otherwise | The Silver Leaf Journal

  4. Pingback: Did I really have a favorite toy? | Rob's Surf Report

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

