Sight For Smell

September 16th Daily Prompt: If you were forced to give up one sense, but gain super-sensitivity in another, which senses would you choose?

I think my title gave it all away. I seriously didn’t have to think long and hard for this one. Don’t get me wrong, I am grateful for the senses I have, even though I often take them for granted.

When it comes down to it (if I don’t over think it), I would give up smell if it meant being able to throw away my glasses. I have had to live with less than 20/20 vision for years. I would give up the sense of smell for super-sight.

Just imagine it, no more rank smells coming from the dumpster, and…wait..what!?! Hubby just made toast…oh that smells good….drat!

My resolve is weakening by the moment, but just imagine not having to squint at anything. Maybe I would even be able to see through walls and around corners. And leap tall buildings….oh wait…that’s Superman.

Maybe I would give up hearing instead. I would never have to listen to noisy eaters. Their lives would be so much easier. But then, I enjoy music too much to give that up.

Oh, now I’m overthinking things. Perhaps I wouldn’t want to be the one choosing which sense I lost. If I gave up smell, I would miss the scent of bacon mingled with coffee. Almost to the point of distraction. Not to mention the smell of fresh cut grass. And rain!

I couldn’t even think about giving up taste...oh look..I just did..I love food too much to feel like all I ever eat is bland mush. That will have to wait for when I’m old and hubby puts me in a home, or something like that.

Nope, I can’t do it! Not giving any of them up! If I were forced to give up one of my senses, I would prefer not to be given a choice. It would just take way to long for me to decide. Just like when I’m in line for lunch anywhere other than Mcdonalds.

Now that I’ve been distracted to the point of hunger, I’m off to make a sandwich. While I do that, I will take a moment to appreciate each and every one of my senses, to the fullest! Just because I can! 🙂

6 thoughts on “Sight For Smell

  1. Pingback: Senseless | Edward Hotspur

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Super Sensitive | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Would I really favor an imbalanced sensory array? | Rob's Surf Report

  4. Pingback: Would I really favor an imbalanced sensory array? | Rob's Surf Report

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

