Knee Knocking Fear

Are you comfortable in front of people, or does the idea of public speaking make you want to hide in the bathroom? Why? ~ daily prompt!

If you had asked me this question ten years ago, when I was in the 6th grade, I would have answered with a resounding YES. That’s the year I had to write my first speech for English class. Except we weren’t allowed to have our whole speech in front of us during the speech. We were only allowed to have cue cards with our main points on it. The rest we had to memorize.

My speech was about World Vision. Probably because I saw my mom watch the program a lot, especially on Sundays. I felt so unprepared. Looking back, it wasn’t that big of a deal, but I was terrified. I was so nervous. Probably because I didn’t have any friends and usually felt like the other students were just waiting for me to mess up. Especially Demitiri, he was my bully.

I have, over the years, taken part in many public speaking opportunities. Whether it was at school or church. I got plenty of practice being in front of people. But it took me a long time to get over my fear of public speaking. There were many times where I had to force myself to take several deep breaths, and then get on with my speech.

I finally got over it in high school when I joined Dangerous Minds (the poetry club). This club often put together reading nights which I attended almost religiously. There was one such reading night set up where I recall going up to read five or six times. I would have been fine being the only person to read poetry all night, but Mr. Spree wouldn’t let me. I had to give others a turn.

If you ask me now, I have no problem speaking in front of people. It really depends on how well prepared I am for it. If I’m not prepared, it’ll be like when I joined the choir at church. Every Sunday when I got up there to sing, I’d be so nervous that my knees shook hard enough to make my dress vibrate. Even that wore off though when I realised that people were listening to the words and not listening to see if I missed a note or skipped a word here and there to take a breath.

5 thoughts on “Knee Knocking Fear

  1. Pingback: Breaking a sweat around the room | Escaping a Daydream

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Naked with Black Socks | Joe's Musings

  3. Pingback: I Don’t Have A Problem Telling It To Your Face… With A Smile | Molly Greye

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Naked with Black Socks | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

