Calming My Anxiety

I can’t believe it’s been seven months since I started working as a line cook at Anchor Bar. That’s seven months of working in an industry I told myself, and others, that I would never work in. I tried it once before, working in a kitchen. It wasn’t half as busy as the one I work in now, but I found it too fast. I’m a laid back person who pays attention to every meticulous detail, making sure to do everything as right as I possibly can.

Housekeeper Selfie :)

Housekeeper Selfie 🙂

Before I got the job at Anchor Bar, I worked at a hotel as a housekeeper, for nine months. For the record, that was the longest lasting job I’ve ever had. I remember so many times at the hotel where I would be told to go faster. I didn’t like being rushed. So what did I do? I went looking for another job! Guess what I got? A job that requires me to be ten times faster. But I’m learning to cope with it.

I’m learning tricks to help myself along. For example, at the start of each shift, instead of getting right to work, I’ll take a moment to see what all needs to be done. I do this by checking out my salad station, making a mental list of what needs to be topped off, and then going into the fridge to retrieve those items (that is if I have anything backed up). Then I make myself an actual list of what I still have to prep and/or back up. Toady that list included pretty much everything since the yesterday was really busy, and because we’re expecting a really busy weekend.

I get all the bigger things on the list, like lettuce, Quinoa, bacon, cheese dip, crab&lobster portions, and hard boiled eggs done as soon as I can. Of course some of those things can be going all at the same time, so it’s no big deal. Those are the things that take the longest to do, and I don’t want to be doing them during the lunch rush. The smaller things, like peppers, cherry tomatoes, and cucumbers can easily be done between orders.

Line Cook selfie :)

Line Cook selfie 🙂

Here’s the best part; if I do enough in one day, then my list the next day isn’t nearly as big. That really helps me in the long run. It helps the whole kitchen run a lot smoother. It really sucks when you run out of something in the middle of a lunch rush. Being unprepared and unorganized is what used to cause my panic/anxiety attacks, even if we weren’t busy.

I feel like I’ve been rambling, so if you’re still reading this, thanks for sticking around. I appreciate you!

I leave you with this tidbit of wisdom that I do my best to go by while I am at work;

“Always set yourself, and the next person up for success.” ~ Chris B

 

6 thoughts on “Calming My Anxiety

  1. I always believed that if you’re constantly being rushed by your supervisors at work, then you’re in the wrong job – and I don’t mean your line of employment, but your specific job, because some employers will suck the life right out of you if you let them. Better to leave that job to someone who will happily rise to it, and let your preference for perfection ride free!

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

