I’ll Keep My Day Job!

Did you know that T.S Elliot had a day job? I didn’t! I just found that out through a google search on 101 Books. You see, I don’t know why, but for some reason I grew up with the idea that writers were just writers and nothing else. I’m not sure why I thought all writers lived off of their literary works and that alone. In reality, I am so wrong.

Seriously, check this out(from the 101 Books blog)!

Kurt Vonnegut sold cars. He managed a Saab dealership in Cape Cod.

John Steinbeck was a tour guide at a fish hatchery.

Sylvia Plath worked as a receptionist at a psychiatric hospital.

Harper Lee was a ticket agent for Eastern Airlines.

I think that’s amazing, but since I don’t recognize any of those authors, I’ve decided to look into some that I am more familiar with.

My favorite childhood author, Lucy Maud Montgomery, was a teacher for three years, and then a proof reader for The Daily Echo in Halifax.

Let’s see, who else do I read? Margaret Daley; Love inspired author, what does she do, besides write? Okay, what she did for 27 years before she retired, was to be a teacher to students with special needs.

Basically, what I’m getting at is, if they can be successful writers, and have a day job, so can I.

I can let go of this idea that I wont reach my dream if I’m stuck working at a day job. The truth is, I’m lucky to have a day job. Not to mention one where I am surrounded by wonderful coworkers in a pleasant work environment. I won’t lie and say that it’s my ideal job, but it pays the bills and provides me with experience, and more times than not, it inspires my writing. So why would I stop?

I imagine that if writers all quit their day jobs, they would run out if ideas. We need our day jobs! We just have to balance our day job with our writing. It’s all about time management really!

 

3 thoughts on “I’ll Keep My Day Job!

  1. Youre quite right; I’ll add one to your list too: Stephen King, before he started writing full-time, was a college English teacher. When someone quits their job to write and they don’t have some income-producing deal already on the table it’s like getting on a bus to Hollywood and proclaiming that you will return a star; it’s a huge gamble with potentially disastrous consequences. So keeping the job is a good play, and one I highly respect. Kudos to you, Margaret!

    I highly recommend Vonnegut’s short novel called Cat’s Cradle. It’s a little weird at first, but totally worth it.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

