Just Breathe

It was all going wrong. Everything I did was wrong. Too slow. The guy who was training me kept yelling at me, and we weren’t even open for service yet. We were doing prep. I did my best to cut the lettuce faster, but I was too slow. Then I overcooked the eggs and undercooked the bacon. Every minute, something was going wrong and this guy didn’t let me forget it.

To make matters worse, this guy panicked about everything, which made my first lunch rush very nerve racking. Mostly because I’m an emotional sponge.

It got to the point where I dreaded the mornings where he was working. The chances of him blowing up in my face about something, even if I didn’t have anything to do with it, were pretty high.

But then something happened! He quit. I got to work with people who were much more relaxed, and that’s when I knew everything was going to be okay. Although I’ve seen quite a number of people leave since I started working at Anchor Bar back in February, I’m still there. I’m there because I was right. Everything was alright, and still is.

Love, Margaret!

PS. That story I promised you is still a work in progress, so no worries, it’s coming. 🙂

_____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Prompted by today’s Daily Prompt

Tell us about a time when everything seemed to be going wrong — and then, suddenly, you knew it would be alright.

5 thoughts on “Just Breathe

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Exhale | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  2. Oh man, I am glad the person causing the funk (probably for everyone) took a permanent holiday. Yay for you Margaret! My wife had a boss in Michigan where we used to live that was incredibly hostile, spiteful and vindictive to certain employees while other were favored and treated almost as pets. Sicko woman she was…

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

