Be The Tree

With my eyes blindfolded I let my classmate Lilly-ann lead me to the tree. My foot caught a root, I almost went down, but she held me up. I smiled my thanks in her direction. I couldn’t see her smile back, but I sensed it, as if the sun was just a bit brighter.

Beneath my feet, the ground was a mixture of hard and soft where the grass ended and the hardened mud began. Lilly-annΒ  stopped, I followed suit. She took my hands and placed them on the rough, rigged trunk of the tree. I heard her step back, leaving me alone with the tree. Then it was just me and the tree. I let myself believe nobody would care when I slipped my arms around the tree, clasping my hands tightly on the other side, and leaned in real close.

In complete darkness, I took in the moment. I prayed there were no aunts or flies near my face while I breathed in deep, the scent of the musky bark filling my nostrils.

Keeping my head rested on the rough edges of the bark, I took in the sounds around me. Above me the wind rustled among the leaves while to my left, the creek rippled gently over rocks. A bird called to its mate from a branch nearby. A squirrel scurried along in the leaves, hopping, stopping, calling to its friends, and then scurrying away when I moved my foot.

Somewhere nearby the teacher’s whistle sounded. It was time for my partner and I to switch places. Lilly-ann untied the blindfold and handed it to me. I took a moment to let my eyes readjust to the brightness of the sun, then tied the blindfold over Lilly-ann’s eyes, being careful not to get her tight black curls twisted into the knot at the back of her head.

Linking my arm through hers, I led Lilly-ann to my favorite willow tree. I held back the curtain of leaves and led her to the center of the willow’s green canopy. I untangled my arm from hers and placed her hands on the tree. Then I stepped back and let her experience the world through her senses, minus sight. I thought about how I would write about my experience when we got back to class. I wondered how Lilly-ann would write about hers.

The End

___________________________________________________________________________________________

Written in response to John Smolens writing exercise. I imagined myself as one of his students doing the activity he would have his students do.

Love, Margaret

18 thoughts on “Be The Tree

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

