What To Write

It’s one of those nights. I’ve forced myself to produce something on my blog, but I’m not so sure what I want to write about. I don’t have writer’s block, it’s the other way around. I believe there is just way too much going on in my mind.

I’m sitting here listening to the national anthem being sung beautifully…except for that one note that got butchered, while we wait for the Leafs vs. Carolina game to start. Which has me thinking about how well the Leafs are doing this season. Hubbs is a very loyal fan of the Toronto Maple Leafs so I’ve seen a game or two(a lot more that that actually). But I’m no sports writer like Hubbs is. He recently became a co-editor for editorinleaf.com and is writing like crazy! I’m so proud of him for landing that position. So I’ll leave all the sports talk to him.

Plus I’d rather talk about the new Scotty McCreery CD that I picked up at Walmart today. I’ve got the whole thing burned onto my computer and synced to my phone, but I’ve only actually listened to the first three songs. I am a huge fan of McCreery. I watched the entire season of American Idol where Scotty blew the judges away at his audition, straight to the episode where Scotty won. I was so happy when he did because I was rooting for him all the way through. I’m looking forward to an afternoon of Scotty’s Josh Turner-like voice while I do the dishes, or cook, or something.

Speaking of doing something, I entered a writing contest a while back. My deadline is approaching, and I have yet to produce the writing. I have started and restarted the piece so many times that I have lost count. I’m not sure why I do that. I can’t seem to get myself to actually finish a chapter before I tear the pages out of my notebook, crumple them up in frustration, and then going through the whole process again. It seems as though everytime I come back to writing after a couple days, I come back unhappy with what I’ve produced, and end up trashing it. I’m thinking I might have to take a whole day to just work at the project and hope to get something good out of it. After all, I don’t have to write a lot, but since I want to win, the pressure is on!

I know I’m going to have to push myself more if I want to even send in a finished product. I’ll stop saying ‘maybe I’ll write before I go to bed’ and actually do it. Not to mention that forty-five minutes(or more) that I have before I leaveΒ  for work in the mornings. I just have to sit down and write! No matter what! I can do it. I just need someone to keep me accountable. Volunteers anyone? My deadline is November 1st. I still have time, but time goes by fast.

Thanks for visiting, and listening to my rambling. I’m off to order pizza for dinner πŸ™‚

Love, Margaret.

6 thoughts on “What To Write

  1. You just have to write it, no matter how much it stinks. Don’t throw it away and start over because writing it all the way through the first time is 80% if the battle. Then you work out your problems in revision, and each revision makes it better. I have the same issue except I don’t have time to write this fantastic story that I’m trying to keep trapped in my head in perfect detail. If I get the time to get the rough draft out, it’s game on but I have to submit by October 30th. So I totally hear ya.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

