Glimpses of Light

Christmas has come and gone, and 2014 is in full swing. I know it’s been several weeks since I’ve written something, and I do apologize for my absence to anyone who may have noticed 🙂

Fear not, I have not been stifling my creativity in the weeks gone by. I was simply channeling my creativity elsewhere.

I don’t know if you remember my reminiscing of paint-by-numbers in one of my previous posts.  Well, I did. I went as far as to put it down as a request for my Christmas wish list. Then on Christmas day, there it was. A large piece of cardboard with a beautiful scene waiting to be painted.

I spent hours on that painting, between working, eating, and sleeping. Then before I was even finished, I went and bought myself another picture waiting to be painted. The second is a work in progress.

The first, all done!

The first, all done!

A work in progress.

A work in progress.

I seriously and thoroughly enjoy this kind of craft. I’m not sure if I could come up with something like this without the help of the pre drawn picture and the numbers that tell me where each colour goes. I think that’s why I enjoy it so much. But through all the fun, I have noticed that my perception of the world around me has changed.

We all know that writers have to have a sense for picking up details that others normally wouldn’t. Well, as I have been painting these, I have begun to notice the colours around me a bit more. I began to really see them.

On one particular day, I walked out of the mall, after finishing work, and my eyes were drawn to the sky. Among the white snow clouds, there was a patch of pink and purple woven into the baby blue sky. I tried to imagine the colours I would use to paint such a beautiful picture. It was a moment where I marveled at God’s handiwork.

Then a couple nights ago as my husband and I went for a late night walk, my eyes were constantly drawn to the patches of orange on the black icy road. Who knew the reflection of a simple streetlight could be so lovely.

It was the same this morning, as I sat alone in the kitchen after my husband left for work. Except this time I took a picture so I could share the experience with you.IMG_20140111_072917[1]

I know it’s not the kind of view one typically wants from their balcony. But there I was looking over the parking lot that sits below me, with my eyes drawn to the reflections of light on the street.

Isn’t it lovely how far a light can shine? Makes me think of another Light. One that surpasses time and space. One that reflects on souls instead of streets. That’s the light that creates the most beautiful kind of reflection.

One thought on “Glimpses of Light

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

