A Family Together

April 26th 2014 was indeed a special day. Imagine that after years of family being separated, with one sibling on the other end of the country, and one in another country all together, for one day the distance evaporated and we got to be in the same room.

I can’t imagine how trilled my parents must have felt in that moment, when their children, all thirteen of them, would be together again. Not to mention those that have joined the family as spouses and grandchildren.

We held the get-together at my sister’s apartment the day my oldest sister came home from Vancouver. It was also the day before my youngest sister was due to head back to Mexico. It was such a rare thing for everyone to be home. That’s why it was so perfect.

Some of us doubted whether there would be enough room for all of us at my sister’s two bedroom apartment, but we fit just fine. While my nieces and nephews played in one of the bedrooms, the rest of use congregated in the living room and kitchen. There wasn’t too much moving room, but that didn’t really matter. We were finally all together again. We were eating good food, having coffee, talking, hugging, playing, and laughing.

It was wonderful to see how everyone had grown since the last time we saw eachother.

Of course we all took plenty of pictures to remember the day, and after eight years, it was the perfect time to update our family picture.

The family, about eight years ago.

The family, about eight years ago.

I can almost guarantee you that someone else's camera caught this better than mine, but I still love it.

I can almost guarantee you that someone else’s camera caught this better than mine, but I still love it.

Now when I look at that picture, I wonder when it will happen again. I find myself wondering if there will be more little ones, will any of them be mine? Who knows? All I know is that I am blessed to have been born into such a wonderful, big, chaotic, and loving family.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

