Playing In the Dirt

I’m not sure when it happened, but at some point between when I was born, and now, I fell in love with all things garden. Maybe it was that time during high school where I did Co-op at La-Jardinere Flower Market on Locke street. Maybe it was through watching my mother in her garden. Nonetheless, I love gardens.

Since I live in an apartment building, I don’t have a garden, so when my cousin invited me over to help her finish her garden, I jumped at the chance. She didn’t think I’d go for it, but I did.

Getting my hands dirty helping plant some beautiful flowers in my cousins garden.

I’m glad I did! I got the chance to be creative while hanging out with my wonderful cousin, and I got to soak up some of those wonderful nutrients that you can only get from the earth. Next time I’ll ditch the socks and running shoes. That way I can go barefoot and get dirt between my toes.

Photo credit goes to my cousin Elizabeth :)

Life is delicate and precious! We transplanted this plant from a hanging basket to the garden.

Maybe, someday I’ll have my own garden to tend to and cherish, but for now, I’ll take these memories. I also take the time to stop and appreciate other people’s gardens (which my husband loves oh so much πŸ˜› especially when I take pictures!)

Now that I think about it, maybe I should get some flower pots for our patio. It needs colour! Anything is better than nothing but concrete and a fence. The wheels in my head are turning, I will have my own little garden soon enough πŸ™‚

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

