The Dream Poem

I dreamt we lived in a place
Completely unknown, yet so familiar.

We were young again,
Sisters without husbands or children.

We were on a bus
When you asked me to write a poem.

Write it about me, you said,
When the bus dropped us off somewhere unknown.

I had my notebook and wrote one,
You tried to peek but I wouldn’t show you.

We walked on stones
Around a pond in the middle of the street.

I tried to write while walking,
But it slowed me down too much.

I’ll never know what it said
Or if it was ever finished.

For the dream came to an end
Slipping away like a canoe on the lake.

I want to rest now, but how,
When all I hear is a child’s giggle,
Like an echo inside my mind.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

