I Remember You

I remember you,
Not the color of your eyes
Or the shape of your smile.
Not even the sound of your laughter.

I close my eyes
Trying desperately to recall,
Words of importance
I know you must have spoken.

But I come up empty.
My mind is blank.
You are not there.
Like your picture was erased
From my memory.

But my heart remembers you,
Like warmth imprinted on skin,
After the embrace is over.
Like wrinkled spots on paper,
After the tears have dried.

I was your little girl
Until life threw us a lemon,
And separated us by time and distance.
Leaving me with nothing but memories.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

