I’m Writing A Book

I’ve lost count of the number of times I have told someone “I’m writing a book”. It far surpasses the amount of books I have actually written, which is a whopping big fat Zero! I’m not counting the poetry anthology I published in high school as a book. It was an assignment, a late one, in fact it was so late that the school year was over by the time it actually arrived!

But the truth is, I am always in the process of writing a book, because that’s what I want to do. Only problem is, those books never make it past being a pile of pages with ideas.

I mean, there’s the obvious story of my childhood that would make a great book, and it wouldn’t really be that hard to write because I already know what happens! Then there’s that suspense novel that never made it past an idea in a poem that I read at the open mic night several weeks ago.

I am so full of ideas for what could potentially be great reads. The question I ask myself is why? Why do I stop? Why do I let life’s distractions get in the way of me doing what I love?

Maybe I’m afraid of what people will think. Maybe those dearest to my heart wont like it! Heck, maybe the publishers wont like it! Maybe it will never make it past the editors desk. All these fears…they are what have stopped me from pursuing my happiness.

So maybe it’s time to put those fears aside. I have all these tools available at my fingertips, writing a book has never been easier. Who cares if I work six days a week. It’s not like I work twenty four hours a day, time is not an issue. It’s just me, and the lack of confidence I have in myself.

So, I’ll say it again. I’m writing a book. I won’t tell you what it’s about (yet), but I’m excited about it. Maybe down the road, when I’m past my preliminary outline, I’ll spill a few beans. 🙂

For now, that’s it. I hope that whatever your passion is, wherever you are in life, that you are reaching for the stars. Believe in yourself! You can do it!

3 thoughts on “I’m Writing A Book

  1. Margaret, just keep writing even in little bits at a time! You can do it!! I have only added a couple of chapters to my autobiography that you were reading a long time ago, but I just chip away at it a little at time. I am also working on short stories. So I know what you mean! 🙂

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

