Whitehern Visited

Early last month I wrote about my discovery of Whitehern Mansion, a local historical gemstone. I expressed my desire to go back and check it out. Today provided the perfect opportunity. I had the day off and had plans to get together with my sister and her daughter, when I suggested visiting the museum, she agreed, so off we went.

To get into the mansion you have to ring the doorbell and wait to be greeted by tour guide. Our tour guide was a gentleman wearing a driver’s uniform. He was a very kind, and informative guide. He took us through this stunning house that still looks like a home, if you look past the fencing that blocks you from entering any room farther than it needs you to. It was wonderful to see all the dated furniture and photographs. I wish I had taken pictures along the way, but I didn’t know I was allowed until we stepped onto the back porch.

I was told that there is a virtual tour available, but now I have a reason to go back! The library was my favorite, besides the garden šŸ™‚

I did take plenty of pictures in and of the garden, which by the way, is free to the public. So if you are in the area, you’re more than welcome. Let me share with you the beautiful scenery I got to enjoy today.

The back of the house, where the tour ended.

The back of the house, where the tour ended.

My niece checking out the stone path that goes from either side of the gazebo.

My niece checking out the stone path that goes from either side of the gazebo.

My sister and niece sitting on the steps to a small gazebo. This is a fantastic venue for weddings and wedding receptions...oddly enough - none of the Mcquestern children ever got married..hmm.

My sister and niece sitting on the steps to a small gazebo. This is a fantastic venue for weddings and wedding receptions…oddly enough – none of the Mcquestern children ever got married..hmm.

The trail leading towards the stables, which is used to serve food and wine at Whitehern events.

The trail leading towards the stables, which is used to serve food and wine at Whitehern events.

Odds are I will find myself back here with my laptop while I'm writing my book. After all, it does take place in Hamilton. In fact, there is a scene that is set in this garden!

Odds are I will find myself back here with my laptop while I’m writing my book. After all, it does take place in Hamilton. In fact, there is a scene that is set in this garden!

Eventually, our time in the garden came to an end. Before we left I had to get a side shot of the front entrance.

Eventually, our time in the garden came to an end. Before we left I had to get a side shot of the front entrance.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

