German Pride

I must be one of a kind for while the world around me cheered for Germany during the soccer games, I didn’t quite care. I went day by day not knowing who was playing whom, what the score was, or which countries weren’t playing anymore.

Sure I felt the energy of those around me as the games were going on. The times when work got crazy because the restaurant was packed full of soccer enthusiasts cheering for their country. I’d hear unanimous cheers when someone scored. In those moments there was a tiny sliver of me that wanted to be a part of the fun, but then it was over, and I went back to not caring. I mean seriously, a bunch of men running around chasing a ball. I just don’t find it exciting.

Maybe it’s because I didn’t grow up being interested in sports. I spent my time with my nose buried in books, my mind escaping to different worlds, and my heart latching on to dreams that seem too far to reach.

But when I really think about it, there is a great sense of community in these games. In the way people come together to cheer for their country, in their shared disappointment when one fails, and their shared celebration when one wins. Now that, my friends, is something to watch. Maybe that’s really what it’s all about. A moment in time where everybody takes a step back from their lives to stand behind and support their favorite country.

Maybe next year I’ll care a little more, because if I’m honest, I’ll admit that because I didn’t care about the game, I missed out on the feeling of pride and community when goals were scored and the game was won.

Maybe next year I’ll care just enough, to feel some of that German, or Mexican pride!

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

