The Book Thief Made Me Cry

It was a perfect Sunday afternoon. I’d intended to play a game on my computer, but said game would have none of it. So I pulled up Netflix and decided to watch a movie instead. Right at the top of the page was Netflix’s top suggestion for me; The Book Thief. Naturally it grabbed my interest.

I selected it and read that it was about a young girl steals books for comfort during the second world war. This was the first time I had seen something from the German perspective. This was also the first time that I have watched a movie that was narrated by “Death”.

It was a beautiful story, I don’t want to spoil anything for you but I will tell you that I haven’t shed so many tears during a movie in a long time. I think it’s a movie that every writer or book lover should watch. Of course, if you can find the book, that works too.

Be forewarned though…you need to grab some tissues first. Unless you want to end up with tear-soaked sleaves.

The Book Thief gets a five stars out of five from me. It’s worth the tears. 🙂

Have a look at the trailer and decide what you think!

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

