writing

Nothing Written

I have lost count of the hours I have spent at my computer in the last couple weeks writing absolutely nothing. Apart from facebook status updates, the occasional Instagram  post, text messages to loved ones, and sermon notes on the Sundays I make it to church. Instead, I have been wrapped up in playing Sims 3 and watching movies on Netflix.

I would open my documents and think about writing, but nothing got written. It was like trying to get water out of an empty well, I would come up dry and empty. Uninspired. So I would give up and waste the hours away with pointless gaming that gave my mind an escape. But then the game started crashing on me, and then even that got old.

When we recently got our wireless internet I resorted to escaping into movies about people who had adventures of some sort. Mostly historical and period movies like Jayne Eyre, Shadows in the Sun, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, The Book Thief, I Capture the Castle, and North & South. I’m pretty sure the list could go on, but I’m sure you get the point. I watched a lot of stuff. All good mind you, but I wasn’t getting any writing done.

Thing is it’s starting to eat at me. All this, not writing. So this morning, even though I only woke up a half hour before I had to leave for work, I grabbed my Italian leather bound journal; determined to write something. I just wanted to write. It was the lamest journal entry I think I have ever made. Seriously, I wrote about the weather. But nonetheless, it was words on a page, and it made me happy.wpid-img_20140823_152224.jpg

If I have to, that’s what I’ll keep doing if it means writing something every day. I know that some days the words will come easy, and others, the words will feel forced, but I have to keep at it. That’s all there is to it. I just can’t stop. Dreams don’t come true on their own, they require action.

One thought on “Nothing Written

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!