A New Day, A New Road

The crowd thickened around me as I waited for the library to open an hour before work. The smell of coffee was strong in the air, permeating from cups and mugs held in wrinkled aged hands all around me. Everyone edged toward the door, ready for the moment the clock hit 9am. Then the doors slid open, and like a river, we flowed into the empty library, and suddenly the river became multiple streams headed in multiple directions. Some for the lounging are overlooking the Farmer’s Market, others headed to the elevator in search of books on the second and third floor. I followed the crowd rushing for the computers, feeling a moment of relief when I realized I had my library card on me.

Having had the use of a good laptop for so long, the library computer felt large and foreign. Almost uncomfortable. I realized that I better get used to it until I can get my hands on a new laptop, maybe even a Macbook Air. I hear that’s all the rage for writers these days.

While taking periodic glances at the time in the corner of the screen, I think about the change happening in my life now. My time at Anchor Bar is coming to a close after a year and eight months. I’ll be saying goodbye to hair nets and tossing salads. I’ll be saying goodbye to the people who I’ve grown to love, the ones who made me laugh, and those who laughed at my terrible, lame jokes.

This is because two weeks ago, my mother-in-law presented me with an opportunity at the restaurant where she works. Desperate for a change, I said yes to the full-time job she was offering me. I said yes to seating people, clearing tables, serving coffee, and so much more. I said yes to spreading smiles, and working hard to secure myself in the new job. I said yes to new possibilities, and to working with family.

There were those who kept telling me that working with family would not work, that it wasn’t a good idea. But soon I came to realize that it isn’t up to them to tell me what will or won’t work for me. I have learned that it is up to me to make it work. It’s up to me to keep a good attitude and do my job. Guess what, it works!

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

