A Lifetime of Pens

I hate throwing pens away! I’ve known this for as long as I can remember. Pens are my weakness. I was reminded of this as I was organizing my desk yesterday. At first I was just testing the pens that were laying on my desk, than I realized that I still had three pencil cases on my bookshelf to go through. So I dumped them all out and had to figure out witch ones to throw out. I did a lot of scribbling.

In case you’re wondering, the ones on the left are the keepers, and the ones on the right, I was sad to see go.wpid-20150310_184408.jpg

The next step was to figure out what to put them in. I wanted a pen holder. My first attempt was an empty can from hot chocolate, but there wasn’t enough room. Then I got crafty with some toilet paper rolls, yarn, and buttons. Took me a while, but I’m pretty happy with the outcome.

Check it out!wpid-20150310_231251.jpg

It even has room for my pencils and highlighters! I love it!wpid-20150310_230013.jpg

I’ll admit that sometimes my pens have some sort of memory attached to them, most of them I keep just because they work really well. Sometimes it’s just a pen. But for some, it’s the pen my husband gave me for my birthday, the wooden pen Gail Brown gave me when I turned 16, and the pen I got from a financial advisor when I finally decided to take control of my debts.

As a writer, pens are my weakness, but they are also keepsakes of memories and accomplishments. I hope to collect more in the future. Ha! Who am I kidding…of course I will.

3 thoughts on “A Lifetime of Pens

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

