Dear Sir, It’s Not Your Dog, It’s You!

“Bassets are scent hounds, meaning that they were bred to hunt by following the scent of their prey. Their phenomenal sense of smell is second only to that of the Bloodhound.” ~ dogtime.com

I was snapping away with my camera one afternoon after work. I couldn’t seem to get enough pictures of the tulip gardens in my neighborhood. My husband and I had been walking together but as soon as my camera came out, I started falling behind. I was on my way to catch up with him when I heard someone speaking behind me.

I turned to see a middle-aged man(whom I shall refer to as Drake) walking his Basset Hound. I’m not sure who said hello first, but it wasn’t long before I was on one knee, petting and admiring the beautiful creature. While my husband gave up on waiting for me, and continued on his way. I found out the dog’s name was Beau, that she was a wonderful dog bred by the Amish, and that we’re practically neighbors.

Drake and I talked about his basset hound long after my husband disappeared out of sight. The man and his dog had made a good impression on me, and I knew that since we lived in the same neighborhood, I would run into the duo again. Quite frankly I looked forward to it. I couldn’t imagine anyone not wanting to stop to say hello to that soft bundle of fur.

Then today happened. As I was on my patio cleaning the windows, I had the displeasure of being a witness to the impatient, harsh manner that Drake handled Beau with. Yanking on her leash and yelling profanities at the dog when she would put her nose to the ground. My respect for Drake, like a glass knocked to the ground, shattered.

My heart broke for the dog who was only doing what was in it’s truest nature to do. I began to wonder if Drake even knew anything about his dog.

I saw the duo again tonight. This time as I was being dropped off after work. Beau, being Beau, followed whatever scent she had picked up last. Drake, not paying attention, nearly tripped over her. That’s when he lost it. Exclaiming to one of his neighbors that he’d “had it with her!” He swore he’d call the SPCA to get rid of her.

All I could think as I made my way in, was that I hope he keeps that promise. The sooner the better. That basset hound is better off without his negativity. Maybe Drake doesn’t know that Basset hounds are emotionally sensitive and will shut down if treated roughly. Honestly, she’s better off in a home that understands her needs, not to mention her breed.

Poor girl, glad I got to meet her. I really hope things turn out for the better for her.

your friend,

Margaret.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

