Who am I, and Why am I here?

My poetry always went to the notebook first, and still does, but my blog gave my words wings and let them fly.

My poetry always went to the notebook first, and still does, but my blog gave my words wings and let them fly.

What if I told you that I’m not sure of who I really am? I can tell you what I am, and where I come from. That I was born in Mexico to a big family that now lives in Canada. I can tell you that I love reading and writing. I love the way words appear on a screen while my fingers fly and fumble across the keyboard.

I can say so many things of what I have done, and where I have been, but how can I tell you who I really am when sometimes I feel like I don’t know?

Maybe that’s part of why I am here. When I began this blog in the eleventh grade, almost eight years ago, it was because my media studies teacher told me to. It was nothing more than an assignment. But when other students deleted their blogs because the class was over, I kept coming back.

I had found something special. My blog wasn’t just a page on the web, it was my outlet. It was somewhere for me to share my poetry and thoughts. But it wasn’t just that, it was also a way of connecting with others.

That’s why I was here then, but what about now? I don’t imagine I can ever not be here, this blog has in a way grown with me. I guess you could say it is a part of “who” I am. But I think that just like myself, it needs a little bit of direction.

I imagine that is why I signed up for Blogging 101, to help me get my blog on track, to help it become more. Who knows, I might discover a bit about myself along the way.

One thought on “Who am I, and Why am I here?

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

