Speaking of Poetry

Inspiration is so much easier to come by when the sink isn’t piled high with dishes and the floor isn’t begging to be mopped, or scrubbed. I should know, I spent the entire week catching up between shifts.

I didn’t touch my computer for three days because I was on my hands and knees scrubbing the floor I almost forgot we had. Finally tonight, with the kitchen and living room looking decent again, I decided that it was time to sit down and write something.

I got sidetracked and watched “My Sister’s Keeper” on Netflix.

Then my phone notified me of a message from my youngest sister, Tina. She asked me if I was watching the super blood moon tonight. I wasn’t. I couldn’t. She said it was stunning. She had a great view of it in Wisconsin.

She told me she was writing in her journal and then going to bed, but then we got to talking about poetry. About why I don’t write them as much as I used to. Suddenly I remembered a snippet from a dream I had this past week. I was headed somewhere, not sure where, but I was in a bit of a hurry, and my right hand was my red-covered poetry notebook.

wpid-20150928_015611-01.jpeg

The last poem I wrote, doesn’t have a date, but was written months ago.

I told her about it, and how it reminded me of how I used to take my poetry notebooks everywhere with me when I was in high school. I always had a poem for my teacher to read. Nearly everyone who crossed paths with me had my poetry shoved in their face. Back then Tina was one of my biggest fans, she started writing poetry too at one point.

She told me that maybe the dream was a sign that I should start writing again. Maybe she’s right. Maybe I’ll start carrying the notebook around with me again, so that maybe, in those still, or not so still moments where thoughts must become words, I will be ready.

With love,

Margaret

4 thoughts on “Speaking of Poetry

  1. Nice to hear from you again. I tend to get inspiration exactly when the sink’s piled high with dishes and all sorts of housework needs doing. (I wonder why.)

    But don’t feel guilty as a result of taking time off from the computer. We all need that.

  2. I’ve learned to always have something with me to scrawl ideas on. I don’t write poetry, but a story scene or line of dialogue or something will pop into my head at random times. My iPod Touch comes in handy–its notes feature or the Google Docs app are my friends!

    On a COMPLETELY unrelated note, I have not forgiven the move My Sister’s Keeper for its betrayal of the book. That ending….grr, I’m still bitter about that.

    Sorry, just had to get that off my chest. Carry on.

      • I won’t give too much away, but the book is AMAZING–well worth a read. And rich and deep and thought-provoking. And the movie took away one of the most brilliant and staggering plot twists. Can’t say more without giving it away, but it irritates me to no end. :-p Clearly I have issues.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

