I Think I’m Ready

imageAs ready as I can be. I know who my characters are, their backstories, where the story takes place, and the events that need to happen. I have read as far as I can in Chris Baty’s book No Plots? No Problem! without getting ahead of myself.

If you’re taking part in NaNoWriMo and this book is not in your possession, I advise that you get it. The first half of the book alone has helped me tremendously in preparing for the month long journey ahead. Now I’m sitting here, waiting for the first of November to arrive so I can dive into the story.  That means I will be sailing through the next week at work, and then it will be time!

I suppose it is a blessing that I’m feeling ready now, as opposed to the night before, or not at all. This will give me a week to step back from the project, spend some time with family, and get a nature fix.

Since I plan on setting my novel in my own city, maybe I’ll take the time to visit all the places where I’ll be putting my characters. That way I can get my descriptions just right. I have Monday off, I could take my notebook and take in the garden at Whitehern mansion in downtown Hamilton. Maybe Daisy and Jaid will have a picnic there one day. Then down to the docks of Pier Four, perhaps I’ll find just the right fishing spot for Tom and his father.

I’d do that tomorrow, but I’m attending the NaNoWriMo kick-off party for my region. I’m so excited to get together with all the other writers in my area that are taking part in NaNoWriMo this year. I know, from the forums, that many of them have years of writing and winning under their belts. I’ll be sure to bring my notebook and favorite pen so that I can soak up all the tips I can.

To all my fellow WriMos out there, good luck! The rest of you, I plan on doing a status update at least once a week. Depending on how it goes, I may also share with you the details of the NaNoWriMo kick-off party.

See you all soon!

~ Margaret Langridge

2 thoughts on “I Think I’m Ready

  1. Just reading your post has been so inspirational. I too have been location scouting as it were for places to set my scenes. It’s actually something I have never done before but have been enjoying greatly this NanoPrep Season!!

    Best of luck this NanoWriMo Season.

    Happy Writing and have a great day,
    Jeremy 🙂

    • Thank you so much! I’ve never done this before so I’m super nervous. But I know there is so much potential all around me for something beautiful to come out of this next month.
      I wish you the best of luck as well!

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

