It’s Over!!!

winner“It’s over!!” My husband sings as I give him the good news. I’ve hit 50 thousand words. I won NaNoWriMo! I wrote for countless hours at least, oh, every day! I woke up early and tried to stay up late. I stayed up late and tried to get up early.

I have learned so much in the past month. Let me share with you what I have learned.

  1. I cannot be both a morning person and a night owl. I am going to have to choose between the two.
  2. If I put my mind to it, I can do it! I wrote a book in a month! It’s a piece of crap, with plot holes, typos, and spelling errors because I sent my inner editor away. Technically a completed first draft fifty thousand words long is all that is required, no matter how crappy.
  3. I thoroughly enjoy going to write-ins. That’s where a bunch of people, sometimes four people, and other times, like tonight, at this very moment there are eleven people. I love the push I get from doing sprints and word wars.
  4. My husband is right, I don’t “need” NaNoWriMo to succeed as a writer, but it sure as heck has helped me grow as a writer. I would not be who I am without the experience I’ve had this month.
  5. I still want to be a writer/author! I have gone through several experiences in my life thinking, this is what I want to do, and then it turned out that I really did not. But it is not the case with writing. I wrote every day for thirty days. Some days I didn’t know what to write, halfway through the month I was sick and ended up falling behind, but I kept on writing. I spent the month catching up, then falling behind, then catching up, and so on. Yesterday I wasn’t sure that I would actually make it, but I did. My husband set the alarm for 6-am and off I went, writing more than three thousand words, until well past noon, so that I could finish. When I did, boy did that feel great! I want to do it again!
  6. It’s not really over! Sorry honey (because I know he reads my blogs ❀ ) Next I get to edit and revise/rewrite. Until then, no, nobody gets to read the book. I told you, it’s crap. It’s the best crap I’ve ever written. Maybe after I get the finished product published, only then will I let the nearest and dearest to me read it. Only then!

 

12310486_10153165984890718_1707289668064283149_n

My desk was a mess, it took hours to throw out my empty Tim Horton’s cup because I didn’t want to get up and stop writing. So I didn’t, not until I was done!

Now I’m wondering something, what am I going to do when I wake up tomorrow? I’m going to write something, not sure what, but something will be written, whether it be in my journal, on my blog, or in my poetry notebook. I can’t build a habit of writing every day for thirty days, and then not write. Nope.

Who knows, whatever happens, whatever I do, I can do it with confidence.

Thanks for stopping by, have a good week!

Margaret.

9 thoughts on “It’s Over!!!

  1. Margaret, You are incredible! I’m never able to get started with NaNo let alone actually finish it. As you can see, I’m still catching up on reading blogs I love and I’m 3 months behind! So, Congratulations! and maybe, I’ll even join you if you decide to do it again next year. Did I just hear your husband scream?!!!!!!

  2. Congratulations! You deserve an extra prize for getting sick during the month and still winning. I am terrified of getting sick during NaNo, because I know it’ll throw the whole month off. Sounds like you’ve got a great cheering section, and that you’ve officially got the NaNo bug!

  3. Congrats!! I just finished it today myself! It’s such an amazing feeling! But I definitely need a break now, haha. But you’re right, it will be hard to go from writing every day to absolutely nothing 😜 Good luck on editing everything! πŸ’•

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

