Reading Karen Kingsbury

a167bc_c51ab0d9d2174789b0ab8b1f4fdab3a4Did you watch Karen Kingsbury’s The Bridge this past weekend? Did you read the book(originally published in 2012)?

I’m sure there are many out there who like me who counted down the days until it would show up on either the Hallmark channel or Showcase(in Canada). Like many others, I was a little disappointed that the movie was actually the first of two halves, and that the second half won’t be seen until December 2016. That’s the plan anyway.

I was like, I don’t want to wait a year to find out what happens! So I pulled the book out of my purse and read it in two days. I have to tell you, after reading the book I came to the conclusion that they picked the perfect people to play the characters. If you read the book and saw the movie, you probably noticed a couple differences. There are a couple details that aren’t the same. For example the death of Kelly’s mother. In the movie, she reveals that her mother died when she was seven, but in the book, her mother dies after her father does. But hey, it works, and it was still beautiful.

Then again, all of Karen’s stories are beautiful. I still remember the first time I read one of her books. I was in high school, somewhere in the earlier years. One day I was visiting someone from church, don’t really remember who it was, but I remember her lending me one of Karen Kingsbury’s books.

Here’s the thing, I don’t remember which book it was either, because, after that first one, I was hooked. At first, I’d borrow her books from the public library, then I’d go to my school library and insist they be ordered if they weren’t there. Then when I started working, obviously, I began buying them brand new. Also, occasionally, now that I am married, my husband will buy them for me.

Seriously guys, when you pick up a Karen Kingsbury book, you don’t have just any book. When you lift that cover, you are opening the doorway into another world, and Karen writes so beautifully that you can’t help but be sucked in. You can’t help but to fall in love with her characters. With each book, she changes lives, and that is one thing I think makes her books unique.

I can’t help but want to touch people with my writing the way she does with hers. Too bad I don’t live in Nashville, I’d love to sit down and have coffee with her. Maybe I’d have her teach me a thing or two about my own writing.

That’s it for now, I’ve got to get ready for work, and pick up where I left off in Fifteen Minutes. Thanks for reading my scrambled thoughts. 🙂 If you’d like to, go have a look at Karen Kingsbury‘s website and discover more of her great books.

2 thoughts on “Reading Karen Kingsbury

  1. Haven’t read one of her books in years. I used to read her a lot. Not even sure why I stopped, really. But thanks for the reminder–I’ll look my next library visit!

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

