A Message of Hope

I have read a lot of books in my lifetime, I can’t even count the number of books I’ve read, but I can tell you that there is something that draws me to the books that I read. That’s true for everyone that reads or they wouldn’t read it. What I’m talking about here is Harlequin’s Love Inspired books.

If you’ve been following my blog for a while, I’ve gushed about it before. In 2012, I wrote a post called Inspired By Love where I went on about why I read these books. In 2013, I wrote about that time I got my brothers reading romance, and in 2014, I wrote a post titled Oh The Suspense where I talked about my eagerness to read the suspense books in the line.

12509753_941466602588406_4793346563087610682_n

The books I bought with the gift card I got from my secret santa at work (and the bottle of wine that came with the card).

Personally, I believe that I have grown a lot as a person and as a writer, but my love for these books is strong as ever. In fact, just yesterday I bought five brand new books, two suspense, two historical, and one contemporary. That doesn’t include the four free ones that I got through the Harlequin reward system. Guys, I’m a pretty big bookworm. No two ways about that.

 

Now let me tell you what I have known all along. The book I began during NaNoWriMo, the book I’m working on right now, is being written with the intention of one day sitting on the same shelf as all of my other Love Inspired books. I know that I was contemplating self-publishing, but a part of me feels like that’s a cop-out. I was born to write for Harlequin’s Love Inspired! If I wasn’t born for it, I’m dead set on it anyway.

Here’s why I want to be counted among Shirly Mccoy, Margaret Daley, and Ruth Logan Hern as Love Inspired authors. I want to write stories that focus on two people going through their struggles, having to rely on their faith more than they do on each other. I want to make my readers feel something in their heart, something that makes them want to go back to the Bible, and the relationship with God that they may or may not have had before.

I want to make my readers feel like they aren’t alone in their struggles, that there is hope beyond their everyday lives, that there is someone bigger than their struggles because this is exactly what Love Inspired books offer. On top of a heart warming, happy ending story.

Maybe it won’t happen right away, but I’m going to give it my best until it happens, and then I am going to keep giving it my best!

That’s all folks! Hope your new year is off to a great start.

One thought on “A Message of Hope

  1. Pingback: My List of Books I’d Read Twice | Words in Empty Spaces

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

