We’re All Leaving A Legacy

When I’m dead, what will they say about me? What will your family and friends say about you?

I’m bringing this up because the pastor, at the church my husband and I attend, is currently doing a series on the topic. He’s also really passionate about it and besides the fact that I’ve been taking notes, I haven’t been able to stop thinking about it.

I don’t want to be remembered for someone who made promises and then backed out at the last minute. Because if I’m honest, and I will be, I am guilty of empty promises. It’s something I have to work on. I have to work on showing up if I say “Yes, I’ll be there.” and I have to work on saying no if I know there’s a chance I might not be able to follow through.

For example, today after church I wasn’t really sure if I wanted to go out. A part of me, the part that doesn’t like getting bundled up and going out when I could stay home where it’s warm, wanted to do just that. But then I remembered, I made a commitment to be somewhere, so I might be late, which I was, but I showed up. It’s a start.

I want to be remembered for my love of writing, for my desire to touch other people with words. Ultimately that’s the legacy I want to leave for my children. I want them to see that despite the roadblocks I didn’t give up on my dreams, and I won’t. I want them to grab onto their dreams and fight for what they love and stand for, because if they work hard, they will accomplish their dreams.

I saw a video this past week where Steve Harvey, from Family Feud, said, “Everyone is equipt with a parachute, if you don’t take that leap of faith off that cliff, that parachute will never open.” Man, that really hit me when I heard that, I don’t want my gift going to waste because I was afraid or insecure.

One last thought; on my way to Coffee Culture, where I was meeting with some fellow writers, I saw a group of young people who are leaving a wonderful legacy of kindness.

20160117_154243.jpg

Serving up warm food on a cold day in the heart of downtown. “These people count on us for the food every two weeks, so we keep coming.”

Have to run, later friends.

 

2 thoughts on “We’re All Leaving A Legacy

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

