There’s A New Photographer In Town

FSCN1143Once upon a time, in 2012, I bought myself a Nikon Coolpix L310. Now, four years later, having accumulated hundreds of pictures out of pure enjoyment, it occurred to me that this was, in fact, what I should be doing as a career.

I have taken many pictures of family members including my siblings and their children and on occasion their pets. But it wasn’t until the end of January when I held my sister Lena’s two-day-old son in my arms and reached for my camera that I realized, this is what I was made for.  I took a couple pictures of him that day and then went back when he was nine days old to take some posed pictures with my sister right there at his side.  It made my day! Knowing, that I was able to capture these images for my sister and her husband.

snapseed-15

My sweet nephew Kody

In the next coming week, I will have the pleasure of doing a newborn shoot for a couple that I worked with at Anchor Bar. After I did the pictures for my sister and decided this was what I wanted my career to be, finally, I reached out to my expectant friends and offered to do their newborn photo shoot for free. Of course the answer was yes and after having met T and J’s beautiful baby girl while they were still in the hospital, I can’t wait to do their pictures for them.

 

But my business, which I will simply call Margaret Langridge Photography will not just be newborn photography, it will be newborn and family photography. At least, until I figure out which one is more demanding. While I am building my portfolio, I am offering free sessions to family and friends. I have to start somewhere. While I won’t be making any money while I am building my portfolio, I will only be offering digital pictures.

I know the road ahead is long and there is a lot of work to be done. I’ll be working on my logo and setting up my facebook page tomorrow. It is likely that I will also set up a blog dedicated to this new venture. When that is all said and done, I will put myself out there, on facebook at least and offer my family and friends free photo sessions. Every time I’ve gone to write a status doing just that, I chicken out and delete the entire thing.

Maybe I needed to come here and make it official first 🙂 because let’s face it, it just feels better to talk about it and give people a heads up.

10426167_10152157780705718_1125292248192878570_n

My sister Sara and her daughter Abby, taken at Whitehern mansion, retouched in Lightroom.

If you’re wondering what will happen to my writing, I’m not sure, I know it’s still a part of who I am, but like many other writers, it won’t be what pays my bills. Right now that’s my day job, hopefully, by this time next year, it will be my photography. We’ll see, and I’ll keep you updated.

20160203_161349-01.jpeg

Included purely for your enjoyment. I met this sweet girl when I was out one day and I made a comment to her owner about how I had never seen this breed with different colored eyes before. He told me that that had been his deciding factor when he got her. She had stood out among the litter. I got his permission to take a picture after I gave her a good long scratch behind the ears.

🙂 Hope you all are having a wonderful week. Sorry, it’s been so long since I have written, fear not, I’m still here.

your friend,

Margaret

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “There’s A New Photographer In Town

  1. It’s so important to know what you like and it’s even when you make a career and a living source from it. I hope to find my way too one day! Congrats! Wish you all the best

  2. Congratulations on your new endeavor. You provide a great example of honoring your passion to create and doing it! I encourage you to charge for your craft. Maybe a couple free gigs as you get started to build your portfolio, but don’t sell yourself short!! Maybe it’s a female thing where we feel bad about asking a fair price- don’t fall into that. Set yourself up for success. Know your worth!!

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

