Simply Unmotivated

I’ve been in a bit of an apathetic kick recently. I started writing at the beginning of the month, but then after a couple days, I just wasn’t in it. In fact, I wasn’t really in anything. Dishes were getting piled up and I didn’t care. Laundry got washed but didn’t get put away, and I just didn’t care.

The days slipped by and my face wore a happy expression even if it didn’t want to. My days were a revolving door of work and not wanting to do anything. Even at work, it has been hard to put the bounce in my step.

Don’t get me wrong, I have a good job, a wonderful boss, and I enjoy the people I work with. But these past weeks, I just didn’t care for it. I have spent many days just “killing time” until it was time to get ready for work.

I didn’t realize until I was told my Thursday shift had been switched from the dinner shift at 4pm to the breakfast shift at 10am, that I was actually happy to get up for work in the morning. I don’t want to sound like I’m complaining, or ungrateful, but I really, really don’t enjoy working in the evenings.

Working this morning left me with the entire day after 4pm to do what needed to be done around the house. And, guess what? I actually enjoyed doing that too!

I really had not realized that working the evening shift every day was sucking the joy out of me. Am I the only person that feels this way?

Of course, I know there are people like my husband who have to work through the night, and I can’t imagine that being enjoyable. Maybe it’s a psychological thing. I’m not really sure.

All I know is that just one morning shift made my day so much brighter. Of course, I know I’m going to work whichever shifts my boss needs me too, but I’m already looking forward to the next breakfast shift.

🙂 Thanks for reading what was on my mind. Today I found my motivation again. Hopefully, I can hang onto it for a while.

Margaret.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

