12 Weeks and Counting

It’s been seven weeks since my suspicions were confirmed. It’s happening to me! There is a human being growing above my bladder. At seven weeks, I got to see the heartbeat for the first time. It was almost surreal. I looked up at that screen the technician turned towards me and thought, Wow, it’s really there!ย I’m actually pregnant!

Since that day, I have wondered how the ever growing little bean is doing. I question whether the heart is still beating and if he or she is still growing.

I’m going to take a wild guess and say that these worries are normal for every first-time mom or just any expectant mom in general.

But then I get that moment of reassurance. Not all women are lucky enough to get this. You know the moment! The one where you’re getting up close and personal with the toilet as the entire contents of your stomach is emptied out! I know, gross, but believe it or not, I’m at a point where I’m getting used to it.

I’m at a point where I thank God that I know my body well enough to read the signs my body gives me before I throw up, and most of the time it gives me just enough time to get on the bathroom floor. It’s marvelous!

Seriously though, how did my mother do this thirteen times? Most days right now I just feel sick. I thought I was going to love having a heightened sense of smell. HA! EVERYTHING makes me nauseous! You know the best part? I work in a restaurant!! I love my job, and my boss, but being around the food smells for any amount of hours is torture!

But, I have found a coping method. Tic Tacs! They’re amazing! Not only does it freshen up my breath, it distracts me just enough from the smells around me.

I’ve heard and read that the second trimester is the golden trimester when your appetite comes back and morning sickness goes away.ย I’m so close, I pray it’s true!

Margaret โค

3 thoughts on “12 Weeks and Counting

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

