Sitting on a Cloud, Watching The Artist

This is how classical music makes me feel.

Today, the Saturday after Good Friday, classical music came back into my life. I have always been most fond of classical music. I felt so strongly about it, in fact, that when I was in middle school, I got teased about it. Some of my peers were under a misguided impression that classical music could only be enjoyed by elderly people.

Maybe, that’s when I began thinking of myself as an “old soul”.

Don’t get me wrong, I love singing along to plenty of the songs that come up on the radio. Sometimes I can’t help myself. But, classical music is different.

I feel like when it comes to classical music, I connect to it on a deeper level. Maybe it’s weird, but classical music wakes up something in me that nothing else does. Ordinary music tells me through its lyrics what to feel and think, but when it’s just the strings, woodwinds, and brass fluttering around I am free to feel and think without restraint.

Perhaps because most, if not all classical music is composed using a deeper level of emotion. I could also be nuts and have no idea what I’m talking about but just go with it!

When I listen to classical music, it’s like I am transported into a deeper, more poetic self. I felt it as I was rushing to work this afternoon. While I hurried around people stopping to look into shops along Ottawa street, the music in my headphones had me envisioning myself sitting on a cloud watching God paint rainbows after a storm.

I heard the music and pictured a ballerina, twirling and jumping across the stage, a long pink ribbon in her hand creating almost magical swirls around and above her.

A moment later, as the song shifted and slowed down, I saw myself watching a fawn drinking from a stream beside her mother while bees buzzed among the flowers in the meadow.

I’m sure the music alone could have created a whole world in my mind’s eye, had I had the time.

This is just how classical music makes me feel, and this is why I just love classical music more than any other music genre. I love that I do my best writing when there is classical music flowing into my ears.

Sometimes, the only downside to classical for me is that it is so easy to fall asleep when I am listening to it. I say sometimes because when I’m not writing or reading, falling asleep to classical is simply delightful. You can almost feel the sun on your face and the gentle sway of the hammock beneath the trees.

Sigh, I just can’t get enough of it. It’s as though every classical piece has an infinite number of poems waiting to be written in its presence.

I can’t possibly be the only one who feels this way! Right?!

Margaret ❤

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!

