assignment · My History · writing

The Dying Goat’s Last Words

If you were to pretend that you were a goat who had wandered off into the wilderness all alone and gotten a prick from a deadly plant. What would you write to the world as your last words? Assuming that you found an object to write it with.

This was the second writing exercise, the first by Jay Kirk in Now Write (Nonfiction).  I know that I may end up using this exercise quite a few times just to get me writing when I feel writer’s block coming on. For now, here is my first attempt at this exercise. Feel free to try it yourself if you want to when you’re done reading mine 😀

“Whatever it takes, write as if your next words are your last.” ~ Jay Kirk

Dear world,

These words are my last,

Here is what I have to say.

I am but a lonely goat

Who often felt forgotten,

And often forgot that I am not.

There were times I caused trouble,

I made you angry and frustrated,

But all I wanted was some attention.

I simply wanted a moment

As the center of your world,

To be touched, hugged, and held,

While the rest of the world faded.

What did you think? I'd love to hear from you!